Media Kit

If you’re a reader, a blogger, or you’re interested in doing an interview you’re in the right place! This page contains details for my latest release How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart, as well as behind-the-scenes material, my social media links, my author bio, and more. Contact me if you need additional information.

How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart

HowToCharmABeekeepersHeart_w12080_680

 

Inspirational Contemporary Romance

White Rose Publishing, an imprint of Pelican Book Group

ISBN: 978-1611168563

Purchase links are available on my books page.

 

Back Cover Copy

Weddings are the last thing beekeeper Huck Anderson wants to be associated with, considering his past. So when he inherits a building occupied by a bridal boutique, he aims to evict the failing business and open a sporting goods store. That is until his tenant ends up being Arianne Winters, a woman he’s indebted to from a mistake made years ago.

When a life-threatening injury derails Huck entirely, Arianne offers a compromise to keep her boutique and her life out of bankruptcy—she’ll aid in his lengthy recovery if he’ll allow her to remain in his building. But nursing her adversary proves challenging when her adolescent crush resurfaces.

Amidst a battle-of-wills, their lives intertwine in unexpected ways, providing opportunity to overcome their pasts and start anew. Will this confirmed bachelor consider holy-matrimony, or will Huck’s choices sting them a second time?

What Others Are Saying

“Fans of Denise Hunter and Becky Wade will be delighted with Candice Sue Patterson’s How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart! From the adorable cover to the quotes about bees and Scripture verses that begin each chapter, this is a solidly written novel sure to charm the hearts of readers for years to come.”

~JoAnn Durgin, USA Today bestselling author of contemporary Christian romance

 

“Candice Sue Patterson delivers another sensational romance for readers of Christian Fiction. Awash with compassion, Patterson lets us walk in the boots of one without Christ, in the high heels of one trusting Christ, and in the hearts of both.”

~Jericha Kingston, author of Waiting for Lily Bloom

 

“This story charmed and delighted me from beginning to the end. Realistic characters, not perfect facsimiles, tugged at my heart with their deep hurts and struggles to realize their dreams, old and new. Candice Sue Patterson’s exquisite writing creates a sweet buzz of pleasure in How To Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart. This book is highly recommended.”

~Kathleen Friesen, author of Nila’s Hope

 

“Candice Sue Patterson knows how to write. Period. This author’s descriptive abilities are phenomenal, as is her insight into matters of the heart and emotions.”

~Delia Latham, author of Solomon’s Gate series

 

“How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart is as charming as you’d expect. With a wedding salon owner, a beekeeper landlord, and one adorable little girl, Beekeeper keeps the pages buzzing in anticipation of what comes next. From the educational tidbits about bees to wedding couture, Patterson weaves a tale that pulls you in.”

~Carol Moncado, USA Today bestselling author of Grace to Save

 

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Candice-Sue-Patterson-Author-420360958035447/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/candicesue_patt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/CandiceSuePatterson

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/candicesuepatte/

 

Fun Links for Beekeeper

My Pinterest page for the book: https://www.pinterest.com/candicesuepatte/how-to-charm-a-beekeepers-heart/

The book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqE1akT2uVc&feature=youtu.be

 

Book Memes You Can Share

 

Author Bio

Candice Sue Patterson studied at The Institute of Children’s Literature and is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons in a restored farmhouse overtaken by books. When she’s not tending to her chickens, splitting wood or decorating cakes, she’s working on a new story. Candice writes Modern Vintage Romance–where the past and present collide with faith. For more on Candice and her books, visit http://www.candicesuepatterson.com.

Author Photos

CandicePortraits009-XLCandicePortraits019-LauthorCandicePortraits029-L

 

The Story Behind The Story

If you follow authors for any length of time you’ll probably hear a repeat of things, such as:

“This book was a labor of love.”

“Writing a book is much like raising a child. You raise it, nurture it, and send it out into the world, terrified how it will do out there on its own.”

“I would die of embarrassment if anyone ever saw my first draft.”

“I hate writing a synopsis.”

All of the above ring true for me. How to Charm a Beekeeper’s Heart really was a labor of love. A painful one. From the day the story took root in my mind to the day it was contracted through my publisher, three years had gone by. In those three years, I wrote draft after draft, endured rejection after rejection, and learned some hard personal lessons. There were discouraging days when I wanted to burn the manuscript and never look at it again, but no matter what happened with it, I couldn’t let it go. This story had to be told. That still, small voice was not my own. It was God’s. The day I stood at my kitchen sink washing dishes as my mind whirled with plot ideas, He promised me if I told the story HE wanted told, I would see it published.

God always follows through on His promises.

It took me a while to work the novel’s plot around so certain areas reflected the Israelites journey through the wilderness. It seemed like I’d never get Huck to be flawed and likable. This manuscript was like the giants in the Promised Land that Joshua and his men reported to Moses. “I can’t inhabit the publishing land, it’s too big,” I’d whisper to God. He chuckled, I’m sure. Size has never been an issue for Him. “Show me what I’m missing, Lord. Help me understand this story,” I prayed.

Ever heard the phrase “be careful what you wish for?”

Shortly after, a personal tragedy rocked my world.

Twice.

As I looked around at my life, which seemed to be crumbling down around me, I felt the miserable heat, the despairing loneliness, and miles and miles of unknown wilderness stretching out before me. Of course, I wasn’t alone and my future wasn’t really a barren wilderness, but that’s how I felt. Each day I prayed for enough strength to make it to the next day. Some days my prayers were nothing more than, “God help me.”

He did.

At times the journey was grueling. I had moments of absolute mental and physical exhaustion. I went back and forth between wanting to give up and believing, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” All the while I worked on my novel, if nothing more than to escape for a while. Writing is my therapy.

As I neared the precipice, finally able to see the end and almost taste the triumph of survival, I understood what God was teaching me.

We all experience a wilderness journey. Everyone’s is different, some are harder than others, but we all have one. Like my hero, Huck, it may be that someone is lost in their sin, wandering a barren life without God. Or as in the case of my heroine, Arianne, one may have trusted the Lord for salvation but isn’t fully giving God every aspect of his/her life, hindering the showers of blessing God longs to bestow upon them to intermittent sprinkles. And sometimes it’s merely unforeseen circumstances that knock us on our backs, making us as vulnerable as a turtle on its shell in the middle of a bustling interstate.

No matter what your wilderness journey may be, trust God every step of the way. Don’t get discouraged and become ungrateful for what the Lord has given you, as the Israelites did. Don’t become impatient and turn to idols (which, by the way, come in many forms, not just a golden statue). Follow Him and “He shall direct thy paths” [Proverbs 3:6].

I’ll leave you with some food for thought from Habakkuk 3:17, 18: “Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation.”

Step out of the wilderness and enter your promised land.